This modern world has a solution for every problem, right from solving complicated diseases to simple alternatives to foods. Gluten-free products are one such alternative to some foods which have occupied a significant place in specialty grocery stores or can be purchased online. Even eat out joints and restaurants offer quite a lot many options in gluten-free dishes. It is always recommended that you call up the restaurant or browse its website for a menu list before you visit one to avoid any disappointment.
Scan Your Menu for Gluten-Free Foods
Look out for gluten-free alternatives in the menu card. You can simply opt for foods without breads, sauces, marinades, seasonings or gravies which would fit your diet to the dot. You can choose something like a grilled salmon with lemon, baked potato with butter, healthy steamed vegetables or eggplant and spicy nuts with rice.
Be quick to notify your waiter that you need a gluten-free meal and that you have zero tolerance to wheat products. Never feel shy or hesitate to ask questions, otherwise you would end up in trouble. Be aware that there are many others just like you with gluten sensitivity.
Be careful when going out to a friend’s party or to your relative’s house. Tell about your needs well before time or you can also offer to bring your own food when the need demands.
In the Aisles
The main six words to look out for in the ingredient list when a product is not labeled gluten-free are wheat, rye, barley, oats, malt (unless a gluten-free source is listed, such as corn malt) and brewer’s yeast. These products must be avoided completely. Also read the food panels for foods marked “contains wheat” in the ingredient list. Do not buy these food stuffs. If you want further idea about reading product labels or balancing your nutrient needs through gluten-free options, you can check with a nutritionist/dietitian at www.firsteatright.com.
You may think of buying foods such as rice-mix which seem to be gluten-free but these might have a speck of gluten here and there if the manufacturer prepares other products containing gluten in the same facility. Though you might keep purchasing the same product every now and then never fail to read all the product labels each time you buy something as the manufacturer may change any of the ingredients at any point of time.
Know the ‘20’ Rule
According to the FDA rule, any food having less than 20 parts per million of gluten can be tagged as gluten-free. Wheat starch-containing foods when not marked as gluten-free should not be eaten.
To have a continuous supply of gluten-free products, request your grocer to stock grains and other foods required at the grocery store.
Dietitian Nutritionist Dr. Nafeesa Imteyaz.